4th November 2016: Blackbird

On how I found my Blackbird

I found my little blackbird whilst cycling home from work. He was laying quite perfectly on his back, wings tucked away by someones front garden. Luckily as a dog owner there’s a 99% chance you’ll be carrying bags, and I was. So I collected him up into the bag and finished my journey home.

IMAG8995.jpg

Upon a closer inspection I wonder if he suffocated. He had a number of small blue berries lodged down his throat and one held delicately between his beak still. He was the most beautiful colours, shimmering black-blue-green feathers and a bright orange beak.

Tori

P.S. The Common Blackbird, Turdus merula, is apparently a ‘true thrush’ hence Turdus!

Leave a Reply

