6th November 2016: Biology lessons

On how I found my love for bones (ft. Katie)

The real fascination for bones started when I was studying at Shuttleworth College. In my first year I had Helen, an excellent teacher for biology; one of our assignments consisted of drawing up an animal’s skeleton to label. Of course once my friends found out that not only was I good at drawing, but was also addicted to drawing skeletons, I ended up drawing three more than I should have!

Then in year two we had anatomy classes, and by that point I was hooked. Anatomical systems, skeletons and dissections all fascinated me! …That’s how I began dissecting at home, but that’s a story for another blog post!

The featued image is of a cast of a horse skull, I could not believe how big it was! Picture below ft. Katie for size reference.IMAG1249.jpg

Tori

P.S. Ungulates can be split into two categories: odd-toed (Perissodactyla) like horses and rhinoceroses, and even-toed (Artiodactyla) like deer, cows, pigs, giraffes, camels and hippopotamuses!

Leave a Reply

