6th November: Pre-collection

On the days before I used to keep bones for my own collection

I used to work at the Lakeside Café, in a millenium country park and spent most of my time as a waitress/dish washer. However come summer we would host ‘Children’s wildlife parties’, where myself and another member of staff would walk past the lake over to the wetlands and teach a group of children about the environment and nature.

Whilst I was very good at identifying animals (red foxes, great crested newts and common toads, is what we’d usually see if we were lucky) I was terrible at tree identification!

I really enjoyed this interactive way of teaching, and it’s amazing how infectious a child’s curiosity is. Parents that turned up their nose at the start of the walk were soon asking questions and looking at things their kids found.

Featured picture: a rabbit found by one of the kids, it was handed over to the ‘rangers’, other members of staff that worked with the maintenence of the park. I like to think one of them probably has a natural collection of interesting things too!

Tori

Leave a Reply

