14th February 2017: Archaeopteryx Exhibition

On my busy week and volunteering at the Jurassic Heritage Opening Night

On the 14th February (romantic I know!) I volunteered at the Archaeopteryx Exhibit in the Old College, Aberystwyth.

It’s been a hectic week from start to finish really! Monday I hosted a Vegan Valentine’s Cake Sale and raised £55 for charity, Tuesday was the project fair for dissertation ideas and my volunteering (5:30-9pm), Wednesday I visited Chester Zoo (6:30am-7pm), Thursday I attended an First Aid Course, and met up with a lecturer to discuss an open slot for my diss. choice and now I have successfully, if somewhat tiredly, made it through Friday’s lectures and practical session! Unforetunately I still have work tomorrow and some coursework to catch up on, on Sunday, and Monday looks to be quite busy too…but I think Tuesday calms down then back to volunteering on Wednesday!

After the project fair on campus I managed to walk down the hill eating some pasta from the union, make it home and shower and then run to the Old College in time! It was the openeing night and there was a guest talk by Iolo Williams (Welsh Naturalist and TV Presenter), first he hosted a children’s Q&A session where I acted as a guard for the expensive camera equipment, as a guide directing people in the right direction and as manual help when we had run out of seating and needed to add more.

This was followed by a brass band which played Jurassic Park songs and Pirates of the Caribbean! During the live music I was employed as a temporary waitress by the catering team (which was fine by me, as I’d worked as a witress for 3 and something years back home) to collect empty glasses. There was wine and canapés, all rather fancy! Iolo Williams had his speech and the visitors had a chance to talk and look around the Archaeopteryx exhibit.

After this there was another Q&A session but with a panel of 4 ‘experts’, they claim they didn’t like the term too much! Iolo Williams again, Dr Caroline Buttler (Head of Palaeontology, National Museum of Wales), Dr Ian Scott (IBERS, Aberystwyth University and one of my first year lecturers) and Dr Bill Perkins (DGES, Aberystwyth University). This was brilliant and I am glad I attended, it was very interesting to learn about the types of questions people wanted answers to, as well as the actual knowledge from the experts!

Once this was finished I went back into the main hall and helped the catering staff clean the rest of the glasses and talked with some of the other student volunteers, had a go on the VR goggles (supplied by a physics student) and finally went home to bed (before my 6:30am start to Chester the next day!)

Tori

Leave a Reply

